Cabin Stay Comes with Spiders


Years ago when we were all young we sang this little song………..humm hum

The itsy, bitsy spider, climbed up the water spout.
Down came the rain and washed the spider out.

Out came the sun and dried up all the rain,

So the itsy, bitsy spider went up the spout again.

Few weeks back now, hubby drove us to Valdez Alaska and spent the night at Eagle Rest Camp Grounds.We didn’t care to do the tent thing so we rented one of their beautiful little cabins
Amazing little cabins ..well designed …very warm .. very very clean….may never do tents again …..well maybe not,it is Alaska and there are not always cabins ….

After settling in we did a little fishing , visited parts of Valdez ,then returned to cabin, and while hubby took a nap .I  took   my camera outside and looked for photo ops….

Oh My goodness…what I found….seems every spider in Alaska likes the cabins as well as I do ….under every eve, every board edge there was their webs and food cache…..not one but thousands of them…on everyone of the little  cabins
The little front deck of our cabin had 55 webs alone….I decided to try to catch a few photos of how the evening sun was playing on the webs… I was really not paying as much attention to the camera as one should ..So a few half tries and this is what I got …but I came away with a few new thoughts about my little buddies the spider…This web was in the eve of the doorway going into the cabin
Here is one of the little guys  working on a web …….


was trying to catch the sunlight on the web….
I decided they had plenty of food cached around the cabin and it was safe to entry the cabin and retire for the night

Leave a Reply

